Laundry soap, feminine products and chemicals.

Today I am starting a new routine of washing my hair with Dr. Bronner’s soaps instead of shampoo & conditioner. I have been reading up online about people who have also done this and most of them have great reviews and testimonies; saying that their hair has never looked or felt better after getting off of shampoo & conditioner.

I guess this fits into my new minimalist attitude. Reduce the crap that my family puts into their bodies. Why do we need to put so much into our hair, and onto our bodies, and what is really in those products that we use? Deodorants-shampoos-conditioners-body washes-makeup-even feminine products.

What is in them? I have already been buying mostly organic/scent free items for my family for a few years when financially possible. I buy as many natural products as I can and I also make some of my own.

Feminine Hygiene: Do you know what your putting up against your privates? I buy cotton and organic cotton pads and tampons from Whole Foods for myself and my girls. I used to use anything, Always, Kotex, store -brand etc., I never even thought about what was inside of them or how they were made, I suppose I was just going with the flow (haha) of society. I have since thought about it, and realized that I do not want that stuff anywhere near my Vajayjay. I have really sensitive skin, and since I have switched to non-chlorine, cotton products I have not had an issue with irritation. Why do you want chlorine near your vagina? What chemicals are entering into you or your daughters blood stream? This is such an important thing that most females never even really think about! They do sell all-natural products at Target as well, and the price is comparable.

Laundry Soap: I just started making my own laundry detergent and so far it is amazing! I made so much for approximately $10. I should have measured it out so that I could estimate the cost per load but I did not, it is about 8 pounds of powdered detergent and you only need to use 2T for a large load so it is going to last me a long time. I will share my recipe if you ask!

Back to my hair, I am going to share updates on how my hair is doing over the month of April without using any shampoo or conditioner. Just using Dr Bronners. Please comment if you have done this!! Or if you have any wisdom to share about natural products. Thanks:)

 

 

One thought on “Laundry soap, feminine products and chemicals.

Leave a Reply

